The NEMLC program is the recipient of the world’s first SmartLogging certificate – an internationally recognized harvest standard awarded by the Rainforest Alliance’s SmartWood program, and NEMLC is audited annually to maintain this certificate. The innovation of point-of-harvest certification within the NEMLC program is also integrated with it’s parent organization’s, the Trust to Conserve Northeast Forestlands’ (TCNF), Forest Stewardship CouncilTM (FSC®)certificates for forest management, chain of custody and controlled wood with the goal of building an independently third party certified supply chain at every link.

The content of the master logger program is based on a common vision for the rural communities and forest resources of the Northeast. These nine Goals guide Master Loggers in their work: Document Harvest Planning, Protect Water Quality, Maintain Soil Productivity, Sustain Forest Ecosystems, Manage Forest Aesthetics, Ensure Workplace Safety, Demonstrate Continuous Improvement, Ensure Business Viability, and Uphold Certificate Integrity. There are detailed harvest responsibilities with explicit performance standards under each goal.

Field verifiers visit actual harvest sites to determine whether candidates for Northeast Master Logger Certification are meeting and exceeding the standards that are required for certification. Their findings are submitted to an independent, regional board that makes the final decision on whether a company will be certified.

What are the different types of certification that we offer?

norteastforestlandsThe Trust to Conserve Northeast Forestlands (TCNF) is engaged in several activities designed to enhance the credibility of the Northeast Master Logger Certification Program and create additional market opportunities for participants in the program. Descriptions of these activities are provided below.

SmartLogging – For Loggers

The Maine Master Logger Certification Program (MLC), the first third-party logger certification program in the country, has earned the first SmartLogging certification and will be audited annually by the Rainforest Alliance to ensure continued compliance with a rigorous set of environmental and social standards. SmartLogging is intended to complement Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) certification and recognize responsible harvesting practices. Loggers that meet the Maine Master Logger Certification standards will also meet the SmartLogging requirements.

Maine MLC pursued SmartLogging certification as a way to increase overall credibility of the program by subjecting TCNF policies and procedures to a credible third party review. This certificate also establishes the Maine Master Logger program in the global marketplace by demonstrating practices that meet an international standard in an increasingly international system of commerce. Rainforest Alliance and the SmartWood program bring this global recognition to the Maine Master Logger Certification Program and ensure that as similar harvest certification programs are created around the US there is an established precedent for a high standard of timber harvesting practices.rainforest-alliance-certified-seal-teaserbox

The Trust’s Controlled Wood Policy – FSC Forest Management Group Certification: For Landowners

TCNF administers an FSC-certified group of family forest landowners throughout Maine. Under this group arrangement, natural resource professionals can inexpensively gain access to FSC certification for their landowner clients. TCNF is the administrative body that holds the FSC certificate and has overall responsibility for compliance with the FSC Northeast Regional Standard. The involvement of a Master Logger in the harvest of member properties will help ensure compliance with the FSC Standard and provide a consistency of practice across all properties.

The TCNF certified group has been formed to provide low-cost access to FSC certification for landowners, consulting foresters, and Master Loggers throughout the state of Maine. The FSC Standard is an internationally recognized framework of forest management that acknowledges a commitment to high environmental standards, social responsibility, and economic sustainability. The certified group is appropriate for properties of all sizes. The primary benefit of FSC certification at this time is an assurance to landowners that forest management meets a credible and independent high standard. In the short term, the financial benefits from premiums found in a certified marketplace should be considered a secondary outcome if achieved at all. In fact, increased market share is the most likely economic benefit. However, FSC-certified markets are increasing throughout the region and entry into the pool at this time will allow landowners and the Master Loggers harvesting the wood to take advantage of markets as they develop. For more information.

FSCFSC Chain of Custody and Controlled Wood Group Certification: For Wood Processors and Handlers

TCNF serves as an administrator for a group Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) and Controlled Wood Chain of Custody certification. FSC Chain of Custody certification allows Master Logger companies to purchase FSC-certified material (stumpage), harvest the wood, and haul to FSC Chain of Custody certified mills or brokers. Chain of Custody certification requires little change from current Master Logger practices, particularly in Maine where a legal requirement for the use of “Trip Tickets” is in effect. TCNF addresses the administrative and annual reporting requirements established by the FSC and audited annually by SmartWood. Under this program, the Master Logger Company is required to contact TCNF to verify the FSC status of the forest where you will be purchasing wood. At this time, only companies with 15 or fewer employees may participate in this group (companies with 16-25 employees may participate if you have a turnover of less than $1,000,000 in revenue). Enrollment in the program is required through TCNF and consists of agreeing to and signing an acknowledgement form and consenting to the possibility of an annual site visit by SmartWood. The MLC company must also maintain documentation on the volume of purchases and sales made of FSC certified material. TCNF will assist any larger MLC company that wishes to pursue FSC certification by providing all the documentation necessary to complete this process. FSC Controlled Wood certification allows Master Logger companies to represent the material harvested and sold as meeting the Controlled Wood definition established by the FSC. Controlled Wood is needed by FSC-certified Chain of Custody processors that are selling products that consist of a mix of FSC-certified and non-certified material. For practical purposes, generally all wood harvested under the MLC program will meet this Controlled Wood definition. The FSC standard requires that non-certified materials exclude the following broad categories of wood:

a) wood harvested from forest areas where traditional or civil rights are violated

b) wood harvested from non FSC-certified forest areas having high conservation values which are threatened

c) wood harvested from genetically modified (GM) trees

d) illegally harvested wood

e) natural forest that has been converted to plantations or non-forest use

TCNF has conducted a risk assessment of the Northeast against the categories listed above. Since the categories are defined globally, TCNF has determined that Master Logger harvested wood in the Northeast meets this requirement. SmartWood has audited and approved this claim. MLC companies wishing to use this designation will be issued a certificate number by TCNF and will be required to maintain the same type of documentation as required for FSC Chain of Custody certification described above. For more information. 

Please send me an application to enroll in the Master Logger program.

7 + 10 =